Well equipped Good location
We stayed in New Cottingburn House 11th to `5th Oct.We received a call on Mon morning to advise that the boiler had broken and couldn't be repaired for a few days.We were given the option to cancel but decided to go ahead. There was a large blown air heater and a portable radiator in the house and a lovely gas fire in the lounge. The house was very warm with these heaters and there were two electric showers. The only minor inconvenience was hot water first thing in the morning. The dishwasher had broken the weekend before we arrived but was replaced before we arrived so no hot water required for dishes! The girls at Hemera were very helpful and kept us up to date at all times. Keilsen, the owner, popped in to make sure we were coping without the boiler. We enjoyed our stay at New Cottingburn. There were seven of us made up of three generations and there was plenty of room for us all. The hot tub was lovely - not the blow up Layzee spa in the pictures but a proper fully installed hot tub. We were easy walking distance to pubs, supermarket and all the centre of Morpeth had to offer. Had a lovely week and would definitely go back to Morpeth and New Cottingburn House.
Was very pleased with the location, 10 minute walk to town. Property ideal for a large family but could do with a few upgrades and a bit of work. The bathrooms are in desperate need of being re done, showers were awful- boiling hot one second then freezing another as well as a foisty smell in them all (suspect this is due to old drains)The kitchen is in desperate need of a deep clean and could do with a new dishwasher and washing machine. We also found that there was very little room to store food in cupboards therefore, it was left on the worktop however, this wasnt ideal with the hot weather we have had recently. We enjoyed the hot tub a few times as well as sitting on the outside balcony in the evenings. Overall, the house appeared to have been cleaned well however, on further inspection this needs a little more attention to detail- my daughter found an old pair of socks under one of the beds.
We were grateful for the additional fridge in the dining room and the extra chairs around the table so we could dine together. The welcome hamper was also a very nice touch and was enjoyed by all.
All in all, we had a very enjoyable break, the house was spacious and comfortable and a good base for all that Northumberland has to offer
Thank you so much for leaving such an in-depth review - we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break and that you were very pleased with the location of New Cottingburn House. Thank you for your comments on the things that you feel could be improved as well as the things you enjoyed about the property - please be assured that your comments have been passed to the accommodation manager and will be taken seriously. We know the Owner has renovations planned for the near future for New Cottingburn House, but in the meantime the issues you have raised will be acted upon.
Once again thank you for your review, we're delighted to read that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you in the not-too-distant future.