Cedar Lodge

Percy Woods Country Park, Swarland
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
4 guests
 

Description

Cedar Hot Tub Lodge

Cedar Lodge is luxurious in every way, from the furnishings to the terrace, hot tub and amazing view. It’s got it all in stylish abundance, with a touch of class and charm to finish it off.

This lodge will surprise and delight in every way, from the second you step through the door. Sleeps 4 in two large bedrooms. Master has fitted wardrobes and large en-suite shower room. The second is a good sized twin (full size single beds) with fitted wardrobes. There’s also a family bathroom.

The living space is open plan and stunning in every way. With large double doors leading to the terrace and an idyllic view over the Northumbrian countryside and Percy Woods Golf Course.

Take a seat and relax, enjoy some alfresco dining or a dip in your personal hot tub. The terrace is large with glass surrounds and is the perfect place to take in the views and relax with friends and family.

Percy Woods Country Park is well established and surrounds the 18 hole golf course. Bring your clubs and enjoy a round or two on us, or simply take a wander round the grounds and do some wildlife spotting. You're likely to come across deer, they come up close and are beautiful creatures to see.

There is plenty to see throughout Northumberland and some fabulous hidden treasure to find and explore. Stroll along the dog friendly beaches, visit ancient castles or take a trip to the Farne Islands, it’s a county full of history and fun for the whole family.

Features

 

Location

Located on the tranquil Percy Woods Country Park, Cedar Lodge is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Northumberland Coast and Countryside. Situated a couple of miles from the main A1 road through Northumberland, the Lodge is half way between the towns of Morpeth and Alnwick.

Both are historic, individual Market Towns with independent shops, great restaurants and bars and their own attractions, such as Morpeth's Carlisle Park and Sanderson Arcade. Alnwick has the infamous Alnwick Castle, used to film parts of Harry Potter, Alnwick Gardens and Barter Books.

Northumberland has some of the best beaches in the UK, more than 30 miles of mostly wide, sandy beaches, with hidden coves and a wealth of rockpools to explore. Dogs are permitted on nearly all beaches throughout the year.

And of course the thing that sets Northumberland apart from other UK Counties - Castles! Over 70 Castles / Castle sites to visit from Warkworth to Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh to Berwick, from ruins to fully functional with visitor centres, there's a Castle here for you!

A boat trip to the Farne Islands is a trip you won't forget, seeing the UK's largest grey seal colony, as well a a wide variety of seabirds. Another great place to go bird watching is the national nature reserve on Holy Island, or the hides at Druridge Bay, Low Hauxley and Craster.

Check the tide times for a safe crossing over to Holy Island and explore the Priory, the Castle, beach and rockpools and the village itself - don't forget to take a sample of the world famous Lindisfarne Mead home with you.

Some of the larger coastal towns are great places to get active - Beadnell, Seahouses and Amble all host water sport activities, or venture inland to Keilder Water for a host of watersports, cycling trails and walking routes.

Also inland there are Roman forts and archeological sites galore, walk alongside the world famous Roman Wall, visit the tranquil towns or Corbridge and Hexham - Hexham Racecourse is one of the most beautiful courses in the UK if horseracing is your passion

Reviews

Cedar lodge
4.5 stars
Lovely peaceful place to have a break. Hot tub was great, the lodge was stunning. beaches not to far to travel by car. Will def book again.
On 2022-08-07
Birthday break
4.3 stars
Another weekend spent in a amazing lodge, very comfortable, nice touch with the personal items left, wine, crisps, doughnuts, will definitely be returning.
By Paul Harris
On 2022-07-28
 
Response from owner
Hi Paul, thank you for your great review of Cedar Lodge - is it your favourite so far? :) We look forward to your next booking, and we're so pleased you all had a great stay in Cedar.
By ^LD Hemera Holidays
On 2022-08-05
A last minute trip
4.8 stars
A beautiful lodge on a quite picturesque site, second time at Percy wood and won’t be my last. Cedar lodge was a beautiful spacey lodge with top of the range appliances. I did find it a bit strange how there was a ironing board and no iron but that’s just me being picky.
By Andy Cummins
On 2022-07-05
 
Response from owner
Hi Andy, thanks for your review of Cedar Lodge, we're delighted to hear you'll be back :) Ironing is banned whilst on holiday! Not really - we will see if we can get an iron and ironing board into Cedar as soon as possible, thank you for pointing it out. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
By ^LD Hemera Holidays
On 2022-08-05
Perfect little getaway
5 stars
Had the most perfect stay in this lodge. Nice and peaceful site, on-site golf for hubby and lovely walks through countryside. Will definitely stay here again
By Amanda Donaghue
On 2022-07-03
 
Response from owner
"The most perfect stay" - wow!! We're so pleased this is your description of your time in Cedar Lodge, and we're delighted to read that you'll be back :) Thank you
By ^LD Hemera Holidays
On 2022-08-05
Stunning lodge
5 stars
Perfect location for a quiet relaxing break, the lodge had everything you needed, with a lovely little welcome gift on arrival
By Marie Burns
On 2022-06-26
 
Response from owner
Delighted to read that you got your quiet relaxing break in Cedar Lodge, much deserved I'm sure! We hope you'll head back to us when you're ready for your next re-charge break :)
By ^LD Hemera Holidays
On 2022-08-05
Lovely Lodge
4.7 stars
Overall had a wonderful experience. Lovely lodge, decorated well, great space. Enjoyed the hot tub, although would be nice if you have the option to increase the temperature to 40 degrees as the temperature dropped fairly quickly. Communication from company great. Get an electronic welcome pack rather than a physical one in the lodge which is fine. Would be nice to give details of some local walking routes maybe. Couldn't find and local picnic spots, so perhaps having a picnic area on site would be my suggestion. Site was lovely and clean, cute little pond with ducks was nice to walk past. Bari bar was great, friendly staff great that they welcome dogs. Thanks for a great stay. Suprised the entrance area isn't an easy to clean material. I felt bad coming onto carpet with wet shoes despite taking them off straight away.
By Vanessa Osborne
On 2022-05-11
 
Response from owner
Thank you so much for your detailed review of your time in Cedar Lodge, we're pleased you had a wonderful experience. The housekeeper has taken your suggestion on board and got more mats just outside and just inside of the main door - thank you for the suggestion. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not-to-distant future :)
By ^LD Hemera Holidays
On 2022-08-05
Family holiday
4.5 stars
The lodge is beautiful and very spacious especially for a 2 bedroom. The master bedroom was the biggest we have ever seen in the many lodges we have stayed at. It was spotless and looks very new. The park itself is very quiet and not much going on but that didn't bother us as we went out everyday and then just came back to relax. My son loved the hot tub. The bottle of prosecco and snacks was a nice welcome too. A few points that could perhaps be improved - When we arrived that was no information pack or anything at all to tell as about the site. We only found the path to Bari bar on the last afternoon and by then it was too late. It looked like there was a coffee shop at reception but couldn't see any info or opening times. There was an ice cream van going around the park most days (which was a lovely surprise)but we had to walk around to find it as it didn't stop at our street. A little info of what vans visit on certain days would be useful and maybe a map of the park. The beds were very soft and we found them a bit uncomfortable but that could just be down to personal taste. The hot tub could have been a tad warmer. It was just warm and by the time you had been in it any length of time it cooled down quick. It wouldn't turn up any just down. These are just a few things that could be improved but we had a lovely holiday and would definitely come back in the future.
On 2022-04-24
Quiet location, short drive to most places, lodge was good standard but could be better.
4.2 stars
We stayed here knowing the location was quiet with very little to do on site and that suited us, as a family with teenagers (with a dog) the boys played golf and we walked the local area one day. Other than that it was a base for days out and about the coast. The lodge is clean, comfortable and spacious, we stayed for a 4 night break. We enjoyed the hot tub and the views from the lodge are superb, not overlooked and the decking is nice and sunny (when the sun came out). It is very peaceful and relaxing. Plenty of storage space in bedrooms and the bedding and towels are all v good quality. We found the lodge to be lacking some home comforts/ basic supplies compared to other similar holidays we have had at different locations such as a few tea bags, coffee, sugar in the welcome pack, cling film/ foil, oil to cook with and cleaning equipment. 100% agree with previous reviews that a larger doormat is required, and a runner as you enter the property, addition of a shoe rack near the door would be useful, not great all coming in with mud and grass on outdoor footwear as was all over the cream carpets, we vacuumed the mess up. The single bed mattress was quite uncomfortable for our eldest teenage son, there was no mattress protector on just a sheet and he commented that he could feel every spring. There was no quick guide for instructions for the CH timings or settings in the lodge so without reading through all the user manuals in a bag under the sink and having to reprogram the controls it was a bit of guess work. It would have been useful to have a guide at the property telling us about the site, the golf booking system, Bari bar and the shop on site, instead we had to search online and Facebook to research otherwise we wouldn’t have known. We enjoyed our stay but wouldn’t return as feel other sites/ lodges are more suitable for us.
By Lucy Porter
On 2022-04-17
LOVELY LODGE
4.7 stars
Cedar Lodge was a Lovely lodge with stunning views across the golf course, it has a beautiful decked area with a hot tub looking out across the course, on a morning you could see the Deer running around right in fron of you. This lodge was modern and very warm and cosy with all facilities you need for a break , the only downfall was an absolutely awful sewerage smell from the ensuite bathroom, I did persevere with it as we were only in the lodge to sleep but it does need addressing. Perfect location for exploring Northumberland we went to Seahouses (got a bot trip to Farne Island from here), Bamburgh, Holy Island, Alnmouth, Alnwych etc with no trouble at all. There is a Bar on Percy Wood but we only walked to it once(which is a shame) as the path to it is filthy , muddy, uneven and dark , it is about a twenty min walk along the path. We did notice a lot of lodges had golf buggies which they used to whizz up and down to the bar (this didn't help the state of the path), the path needs concreting to make it safe to walk and drive the buggies on. I would book this lodge again as the location was fab, furniture modern and general cleanliness brill , I would however have to make sure the drain smell was dealt with first. Hemera Holidays who we booked through are one of the best I have used for booking lodges.
On 2022-04-06
Love this place
4.3 stars
Forth time at Percy woods such a lovely place for peace and quiet,plenty of walking in the woods good golf and some lovely places to eat. This place is a hidden diamond.
By Keith Costello
On 2022-04-03
Superb accommodation
5 stars
Recently returned from a stay at Cedar Lodge. The quality of the accommodation is superb, the best lodge we have stayed in. It is very well furnished and extremely comfortable. The lodge has great views over the golf course and the hot tub was very welcome after a long day's walking. Would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.
By Mark Sanderson
On 2022-02-07
 
Response from owner
Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review of the divine Cedar Lodge, we're so pleased you loved it as much as we do :) We hope you'll be back sooner rather than later!
By ^LD Hemera Holidays
On 2022-03-03
Luxury Lodge
4.5 stars
We were the organisers of a group of 11 friends. Others stayed elsewhere on the site. We had the best accommodation by far. It is truly luxurious. The best lodge accommodation we’ve ever been to. Exceptionally spacious and well maintained. Lovely view over the golf course and Northumberland. Would totally recommend.
By Beverly Sherratt
On 2021-10-14
Mid week stay
4.8 stars
This is our second stay at cedar lodge and again it was excellent. The lodge is very large and roomy with everything in that you need
By William Hewitson
On 2021-10-03
September 2021 Staycation
4.7 stars
We really enjoyed our stay here in September 2021 as a couple with two dogs. The park was easy to find and the property was also easy to find. Initial impressions were really positive with only a very few small things that could make this property better for both the guest and the owner/representatives etc. There is only one entrance to the property which is carpet and even then it's light coloured as well and has a very small entrance rug- so when arriving with two dogs/bags for a week this was a little bit difficult to navigate as also a wet day and the grass next to the property was freshly cut. Perhaps a long runner from the doorway would be helpful if carpet is the preferred flooring and also supply a vacuum as we were so surprised not to find one and definitely would have preferred one available so we could keep on top of the place for our weeks stay. We did manage this by placing one of our towels we had brought and on the day of departure literally picked up any small debris but I think this could have been easily avoided with a vacuum. The only other thing was providing an ironing board but no iron? This should be included-most hotels/self catering properties do provide this item.We received a nice little welcome pack of chocolate, fizz, crisps and a few bits we'd need which was a nice gesture and pleasantly received. Slight issue was only two toilet rolls being provided for a weeks stay and none spare in the little cabinets in bathrooms etc. The hot tub and outdoor area were absolutely lovely and hot tub seemed well maintained. Overall this property was lovely and we would definitely return- we did look into returning in January however were surprised to see the same price for September which is obviously peak versus the cold month of January with less people about etc so we have delayed this for now but would return in the future.
By Luke Fountain
On 2021-09-29
Lodge
4.5 stars
The lodge was very nice and in lovely surroundings,but nothing there no on site bar or restaurant ,for children just the playground .not well signposted a few people I spoke to said the same, I thought there would be a hairdryer in the lodge but no also no cheese grater and I did need one a bar stool was broken but did ring house keeping they came and repaired but did take nearly all day to arrive .
By Carol Duggan
On 2021-08-18
Great stay in a beautiful lodge
4.8 stars
We had a 4 night stay in Cedar Lodge, the lodge was immaculately clean and very spacious. It was well equipped with everything we needed, including a welcome pack with some chocolate, wine and cleaning products. This was appreciated and a nice touch. The hot tub was great, private with a great view and it was also checked everyday. The only negative was having to drive to get to everything, it would have been nice to have a wee pub on-site, however that was my own fault for not checking this beforehand. Hemera Holidays are also very easy to book with, they’re in touch regularly and are always very friendly.
By Alison Coull
On 2021-07-07
A week with the deer
5 stars
Such a peaceful location, surrounded by woodland and every shade of green. Luxury cabin, very comfortable and made for a perfect week away. Happy to stay in the beautiful surroundings of Percy Wood/Swarland and only 20 minutes from the stunning Northumberland coast, and beautiful Warkworth village. A deer would wander by our cabin everyday & the birdsong all day brings such calm. The cabin itself is very spacious, stylish & warm! Beds are super comfy and the ensuite to main bedroom is a great size. Love the open plan living area and 5 yr old particularly enjoyed the kitchen island and obviously the hot tub. A wonderful week away exploring the wild and stunning Northumberland coast in such relaxing accommodation.
By Simone Donnelly
On 2021-06-06
Absolute shambles from the start not even I phone call our nothing I had to do everything
3.2 stars
When I turned up lodge wasn’t ready so moved into another lodge which I wasn’t happy about as I didn’t book that one , Also lodge hot tub stopped working so didn’t really have a good time , I had to ring around to sort everything, no phone calls from the service provider I booked though , not even a refund our discount
By David Laidler
On 2021-05-02
 
Response from owner
Thank you for your feedback. We called on the morning of your arrival and we were unable to leave a voicemail so an email was sent asking you to call us at 10.53 am. The lock on the property was damaged and we were unable to access the lodge until a locksmith could attend. We were then able to provide you with an alternative that was of a similar standard which was ready and the hot tub was ready and waiting for your arrival. We state in your arrival instruction that you will have the housekeeper's contact number who is on the park and can help you with any issues you may have. I understand you had personal service from the housekeeper who sorted your stay out. We apologise that the lodge was not ready due to unforeseen circumstances. However, you had no delay in starting your holiday in another lodge provided with a hot tub. Hemera Team
By Hemera Team
On 2021-05-28
Great stay.
5 stars
Wonderfull stay for weekend .Lodge was perfect cant fault a thing gifts are left for you which is nice gesture.Will definitely return in future.
By Shirley Turner
On 2021-04-21
 
Response from owner
We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend in the Cedar Lodge. We will look forward to arranging your future stay.
By Hemea Team
On 2021-05-28
Great Stay
5 stars
A really lovely place, very clean and modern, close to towns and beaches and dog friendly - hot tub was brill! the whole family really enjoyed it here and would return
By Damian Sivey
On 2020-11-10
Amazing Weekend in the Brilliant Lodge
5 stars
Honestly I can't complain at all. Service was brilliant, and very helpful. The deal was so good I initially thought it might be a scam. Cabin was amazing!!!!!!!!! Had literally everything we needed, lovely location. Was fab spending the evening in the hot tub looking up at the stars. Also the club house at the golf course was a brilliant nights entertainment, they had a really good live singer on, and the drinks were very (very) reasonably priced. I will definitely be returning in the future, and would 100% recommend!
By Clare Gale
On 2020-10-21
Cedar lodge
5 stars
Me and my wife could not fault this lodge and it was beautiful. So relaxing and chilled would recommend to anyone. Wife loved the hot tub she was in it every day and night. We would definitely come back here again also people very friendly. Thank you so much
By Stephen Waterston
On 2020-10-04
Short stay at Cedar Lodge
4.5 stars
We enjoyed our stay at Cedar Lodge, the space was lovely and so was the environment. There were just a few minor issues that we felt could be improved, such as maybe a carpet runner by the main door to give more space for removing shoes and also maybe a rug by the patio doors instead of a piece of off cut carpet, there were a few bugs in the corner of the bedroom ceiling but nothing a good hoover wouldn’t sort out,, overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely stay again.
By Gilly Whitehead
On 2020-09-27
Relaxing and peacefull stay .
4.3 stars
Beautifull lodge with everything you need for your stay .cooking utensils etc.slow cooker,frying pans,fridge freezer,washer dryer even which helped to dry off the towels instead of having them on radiators .you have to provide your own towels for coming out of hot tub but I called in advance to check this. Golf course right outside the lodge and kept the men happy for a few hours each day . dog walk around the site was a good walk and fresh air ready to get back relax and enjoy few drinks . We will def be booking again if hot tub is not for you there are plenty of beautifull lodges /caravans on this site . Not sure on reception or pub as covid restriction s were phone calls only .
By Jackie Radford
On 2020-09-27
September Break
5 stars
Lovely midweek getaway excellent location to explore area with our dog Lodge very exclusive inside & lovely position with sun hitting terrace in afternoon which is situated overlooking golf course
By Clare Baldasera
On 2020-09-21
Show moreShow Less
Availability
Subtitle
Previous
Next
Loading Getting availability
 
Summary
Nights
From
To
For
Total Cost
Sorry, but your searched dates are not available for this property
Check availability
 
 
© 2022 Hemera Holidays | Privacy policy
Web design by Creatomatic
This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
 
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.